To my new slicing family

I decided to join the challenge this year after having read a lot of the slices that were posted last year.  I needed this challenge because it caused me to move out of my comfort zone.  Sometimes as teachers, we want our students to write each day, but unless we ourselves are living as writers it’s a bit hypocritical to ask our students to do what we don’t practice.  It’s like that quote, “do as I say, not as I do.” 

I created a blog, and challenged myself to post each day.  I even told my Principal, who continually encouraged me to complete the month and even added me to the favorites.  There were times when I thought, “what did I get myself into?”  but I was so encouraged as I read other posts and the comments that were left for me.

As I come to the end of the month long challenge, I know that I want to continue posting and hearing from other bloggers.  I am especially interested in conversing with teachers of young students about the excitement and challenges of awakening the writing world to them. 

Thank you Ruth and Stacey for giving me the opportunity of moving out of my comfort zone.

One thought on “To my new slicing family

Leave a Reply

