The eyes of a poet

This weekend I noticed all of the beautiful blossoms that had begun to bloom on the trees in my area of Central New Jersey.  It always brings a smile to my face, not only because it tells me that winter is over, but it also reminds me of the poetry genre that is usually taught during this season.

I enjoy teaching poetry to young students because I am always amazed at how children naturally look at objects with the eyes of a poet.  There are trees with beautiful pink blossoms which every year children call the “cotton candy” or “bubblegum” trees.  Sunlight coming in through windows is called “blankets of sun” or “showers of sun”.  We always write the new names for objects under a picture and display them in our classroom.  Nature walks take a whole new meaning with the eyes of a poet.

Have you noticed bubblegum trees, rock candy trees, or little suns growing around you?  If you haven’t stopped to look at things like a young poet, have a go, take a child with you, and be inspired by their responses.

Would you be willing to respond with some of your noticings?

6 thoughts on “The eyes of a poet

  1. Bubble gum trees! I love it.
    I love the little clumps of daffodils… they remind me of nuns in a huddle, nodding away on their prayers…
    and the clack clack of the blackbird as he gorges himself at the bridfeeder
    or the feathery willow trees with a haze of green

  2. I have three such trees that have bloomed in my backyard. I will have to go outside and observe those “cotton ball trees” with a bit of a young poet’s eye.

    To that end, would you mind if I used this post as inspiration for an upcoming blog piece on TWT? Please e-mail me and lmk if that’s okay.

    THANKS!

  3. Thanks for the reminder to slow down and REALLY see. I’ve noticed the warmth of the sunshine, the mini-irises winking their purple eyes at me, and the songs of spring — frogs, insects, birds, wind. It is music to my ears. I love the ordinary, everyday stuff when I take the time to slow down and absorb it.
    Ruth

  4. Pingback: You Be the Poet! « TWO WRITING TEACHERS

Leave a Reply

