The Summer Sleds

There are many times when we hear how we should have the same expectations for both boys and girls.  We want them to have similar thinking and similar results, but we tend to forget that boys and girls are just different.  They think different.  They act different.  You get different results from each of them.

Last weekend my daughter and nephew, both 10 years old, decided that it would be fun to go sliding down a hill.  They wanted to make cardboard sleds.   They each found long pieces of cardboard and began building their “sleds”.  After 20 minutes, my nephew was sliding down the hill and my daughter was still working on her sled.  It wasn’t until another 15 minutes passed that she joined him in the fun.  To those of us around, it seemed that my daughter was taking too long to complete her project.  Upon looking at the completed sleds, my nephew taped his cardboard pieces together and began to play.  My daughter had also taped her cardboard pieces together, but what took so long for her to join was the fact that she began to decorate the sled!  She taped some gravel to the outside of it as a decorative design and she taped an empty packing tape roll on the inside, because she wanted a cupholder!  If I can ever figure out how to add pictures to my blog, I will add them.  Maybe someone can help me.

We can have the same expectations, but boys and girls will always see things from their very special perspective.

8 thoughts on “The Summer Sleds

  1. Adding pictures took me awhile to figure out too. There is a little icon on the toolbar that looks like a screen. You click that then click on select files and go to the place where your photos are stored. Once you have the photo, click on upload and then you still have to scroll down and click on insert into post. Hope this helps

  2. What memories your story brings me – I used to do the same thing with my sibs, that was when we lived somewhere where the grass actually dried out enough to slide on!
    Check out the “supports” on WordPress – they’ll show you a little video of how to upload pics. good luck!

  3. Loved the cupholder! Girls think of the details, I think, boys just want to get sliding (in action) right away. Some things just are the way they are!.

  4. Great story and you are so right about the differences. Your story reminded me of the difference in my daughters and son when moving out for college. Boys take the bare necessities in a few boxes and girls take heaps of stuff including every photo they ever framed.

Leave a Reply

