I almost missed the signs

Slice of Life Challenge: Day 12

I almost missed the signs

I was heading out the door in a rush this morning with a million things racing through my mind.  Will I have enough time to complete my to-do list, do I have enough time to grab a cup of coffee, did I remember to bring my laptop charger, etc. 

As I opened the door I froze because there standing on my front lawn looking up at me(as if it had been waiting) was a robin.  Was this the first robin of the season?  Had I not noticed them before today?  I stopped to watch it hop around the grass as it searched for food.  As it searched, I began to look around me and I realized that the trees by my house were filled with ruby red buds, my daffodils and tulips were sprouting, and new blades of grass were beginning to grow.

I had not realized that the signs of spring were everywhere because I was too busy with “stuff” to notice them.  This robin caused me to stop, slow down, and open my eyes to look at my surroundings.  I think I will cut out some items from my list and take some time to enjoy the view in my backyard.

Thank you little robin!

7 thoughts on “I almost missed the signs

  1. Haven’t we all been there, in a rush, moving through life like a bullet train, when something appears and makes us pause. Glad you were able to slow down, see the signs, and document the moment. Spring is coming!

  2. I always know our spring has arrived when I see the first fat purple buds on the wysteria vines outside our back windows. They grow inch by fat inch, emitting their delicate fragrance. This also means the weather is mild enough to have the windows open so that fragrance wafts into the bedroom.

    I love these signs of spring!

  3. I love how you captured the moment when you realized you were too busy. I’m glad you made the choice to slow down. It is one you won’t regret.

Leave a Reply

