The Substitute

Slice of Life Challenge: Day 15

The Substitute

My husband worked as a substitute gym teacher today and he was excited to “play” with kids all day.  This was our morning conversation:

“I am subbing for the gym teacher.”

‘Really? What grade?”

“I don’t know.”

“Are there sub-plans for you?”

“I don’t know.”

“What will you do with them?”

“Play!  How hard could it be?”


After lunch, I called to check up on him.  This was our conversation:

“How is everything going?”

“Okay.”

“Just okay?”

“Well, there were no sub-plans and there was one group that was the toughest group I have ever worked with.”

“Who?”

“The kindergarten class!”

“What?!”

“They ran all over me.  They wouldn’t listen.  I couldn’t control them.”

“Really?”

“Now I appreciate kindergarten teachers like never before.  I can’t wait to go home.”

 

It’s amazing how quickly your perspective can change within a few hours.

7 thoughts on “The Substitute

  1. Caroline,
    Thanks for this post. I love how it is a line after line of dialogue. It adds a raw quality to the piece, like being at the dinner table while listening in.
    Keep it up!
    Erin

  2. Ha! Oh for sure! Kindergarten was always the toughest group for me when I substituted for the gym teacher. They have a mind of their own for sure. The commentary between you and your husband was laid out perfectly. A priceless conversation that anyone can read and laugh about as they have had similar conversations where the beginning altered drastically by the end. Great!

  3. Ok, I just got the biggest giggle out of that. Kindergartners are a category all there own. I love how the dialog painted a perfect picture. (giggle, giggle)

Leave a Reply

