The Healing Balm

It was early Monday morning and my group of boys began to write.  The shuffling sound of papers was all you could hear until it happened…the unmistakable sound of sniffles.  It began as soft sounding sniffles and quickly grew to a heart-wrenching sob within a matter of seconds. What happened?  I immediately went over to find out the reason for the crying.  “T” began to show me his writing about a ride at the amusement park.  In between heartfelt sobs, he showed me the detailed sketch of his family and how he had labeled  each member.  When he pointed to his sister he let out a loud cry and told me how his sister was away at college and how much he missed her.

My curiosity quickly turned to empathy as I shared how my son is away at college and how much I miss him.

Once we connected over our sadness, he finished his writing and told me that he felt better.  I was amazed at how moved “T” had become due to his writing and how he was able to move on once it was written and shared.  It made me take another look at writing and how it helps heal the wounds and is good for the soul.

4 thoughts on “The Healing Balm

  1. Writing is such a wonderful way to heal the soul. Sharing your writing with someone who can connect with what you’re going through is priceless. Sounds like a great “conference” you had with your student.

  2. That was so sweet. They are so tough and so tender. Don’t you find that to be true also in your own writing? Sometimes you write what starts out to be quite objective and matter of fact, and as you write and read it over to yourself you find that you have put more of your self into it than you realized…and the tears come. It must have been quite a relief to be able to talk through what his writing was making him feel.

  3. I’ve often had students write about ‘hard’ things, and it does help. I’m glad you noticed that this was going to be the case this time. What a nice talk you must have had with this student.

Leave a Reply

