Home for the Holidays

It is always around this time of year when we watch as loved ones come home for the holidays with all of the excitement and emotion of a Hallmark movie.  Well, yesterday was my turn to co-star in my very own holiday movie.  We had been counting the days, hurried to finish decorating the tree, rushed home from work, made sure everyone finished homework, and checked the flight status every half-hour to ensure no delays.

The usual 30 minute ride to the airport seemed like an eternity and I was upset that we had to park far (in my opinion) from the terminal entrance.  Finally, the time had arrived and as I waited at the gate, my daughter turned and asked, “you’re not going to cry, are you?”  (There is always a critic at every movie!) We watched as passengers began to stream from the gate, pass the onlookers, and proceed towards the baggage claim.

Finally we saw him!  We would have loved to run towards him(not in slow motion), but the TSA agents standing there like bouncers would have ended the movie in an instant.   My son is home from college for the Christmas break!  I didn’t cry, but as I hugged him, I savored the moment and was so grateful to have him home.  The experience gave me a new definition of what it means to come home for the holidays.  It felt like a well-written script and one I was happy to be a part of.

7 thoughts on “Home for the Holidays

  1. Both of our kids are in college now, one 6 hours away and the other 3 1/2. We have visited them a bit, attending football games and taking them and their friends to dinner. It is different when they arrive home for Christmas. I’m always so happy to have a full house again. Enjoy the time with your son! Happy Holidays!

  2. Goose bumps…you gave them to me. My own son is a kindergartener and most days I remember I won’t be getting the frequent hugs and non-stop “I love yous.” I’m glad he’s home. Enjoy!

    Thanks for slicing…your stories matter to me. 🙂
    Ruth

    • This slice is special to me because I can recall when he began Pre-school and how I couldn’t wait to pick him up from school, have a snack together, and hear about his day. Now, I pick him up at the airport (with the same excitement and desire to hear all about his day.) How quickly time goes by.

      Enjoys all of those hugs and “I love yous.”

  3. Darn those TSA agents! Don’t they recognize a mother whose heart is so filled with love she can’t wait to hold her baby again? I’m glad you made it without tears, enjoy your time with your kids. They are gone too fast!

  4. What mother doesn’t want to have a bit of a cry with this. I’ve had a number of goodbyes through the years now, yet that college stuff was the real beginning, so as moms we must feel our hearts wrenched at the thought that our kids really are grown up! And yet, we want it too. Thanks for telling this lovely story, & have a very Merry Christmas!

  5. I was just thinking about how the term “home for the holidays” truly became meaningful for me as a college student – and then as a mom welcoming my own home. Now my nest is half empty and my home really isn’t her home, but I love the “return” part of holidays.

Leave a Reply

