The “Funnest” Teacher

SOLC Day 5: The “Funnest” Teacher

I was recently told by a first grade student that I am the “funnest” teacher.  When asked why, her response was that I make words fun.  I accepted the title with a smile and we began our fun work.  We worked with play-doh, magnetic letters, and white boards reviewing and introducing new words.  At the end of the session she hugged me and asked if she could stay longer.  I allowed her to stay for a little while, during which she drew her favorite animal and we displayed it on a closet door.  Now every time we work together she draws a new animal and the closet door now looks like an art gallery.

My next step with the drawings is to write sentences and stories for us to read together.  More fun to come.

5 thoughts on “The “Funnest” Teacher

  1. I love when students think a teacher is fun! Especially when they are learning during the fun. Sounds like you have a special connection with this little one. She’s sure to remember you for a long time

  2. That’s a title I’ll take any day of the week–especially on a Monday! After all, emotions are the gatekeepers of memory. So, if your students are having fun, they are more likely to retain what they are learning.

Leave a Reply

