Stories behind the flowers

SOLC Day 6: Which flower?

Yesterday was my mother’s birthday and after work I went out looking for flowers to take over to her house.  As I looked at all of the arrangements, I found myself taking in all of the aromas: sweet, strong, delicate, and exotic.  It was like walking through a garden filled with spectacular color schemes and scents.  I usually purchase arrangements containing Iris’s to match her middle name, but there were none to be found.  What was I going to do? I began to search for flowers that matched her personality and personal history.

Once I changed my search criteria, I began to look at the flowers with new eyes and could name a person for each arrangement.  I finally decided on a floral arrangement containing “small moment” flowers from my mother’s life.

It was a perfect fit.  When she received the flowers, not only did they bring my mother joy but we were all able to enjoy the stories behind each flower.

3 thoughts on “Stories behind the flowers

  1. For my wedding, I made personalized floral arrangements for my bridesmaids. Each flower signifies something different, or a different characteristic – I love that way that resonated with you yesterday.

  2. Oh, how sweet! I love this. I used to work in a floral shop and you are right. Flowers can tell a story, if we just see them in the new lenses. Through your mother’s personality the flowers took on a different look. I love your analogy. Thanks for sharing! Happy Slicing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

