The “F” word

SOLC Day: 12 The “F” word

 

Here is a conversation between myself and another student.  Enjoy!!

 

J was sitting across from me trying to do his work but noticeably uncomfortable about his pants pressing against his stomach.

“J, is the button from your pants bothering you?”

“Yes, they are hurting me a lot.” (He doesn’t look up at me)

“Would  you like to  open the button so it doesn’t hurt?”

“Okay” (Still not looking at me)

“Make sure to let your father know that your pants are fitting you a little tight.”

J lifts his head, looks to the left and then to the right, leans over the table, and with one hand covering the side of his mouth he looks at me and asks:  “is it because of the F word?’

“The F word?” (Now I’m leaning over the table)

“Yes, you know….F-A-T.” (I know you’re laughing!!)

“No, J.  You’re not F-A-T, you’re just growing up and you are outgrowing your clothes.”

“Oh, okay”  (He puts his head down and continues his work)

 

Isn’t is funny how we can jump to the wrong conclusion?

6 thoughts on “The “F” word

  1. You are correct, I was wondering what you were going to say, but when you started with the pants being too tight I had a feeling that’s where you were going! Thanks for sharing! Happy Slicing! 🙂

  2. I love this! Isn’t it interesting how many ‘F’ words the students know, even though not one of them is the ‘F’ word that I’m thinking they are thinking.

  3. This is so funny! I often have to ask student to clarify when they tell me that someone said the “F” word or “B” word. It’s funny what they mean to them and to us!!!

  4. This is a great slice about your interaction with your student! I know a lot of time it’s easy to jump to the wrong conclusions with our students.

Leave a Reply

