Sweet smell of memories

I have often taught students that different things can elicit memories, which can be used for writing.  This was very true for me this weekend.  My friend sells Avon products and gave me a book to look through and as I thumbed through the pages, I smelled the different sample scents on various pages.  Some were nice and some were not, but I didn’t have any significant reaction to any of them until I reached the page that displayed Sweet Honesty.

The moment I took a whiff of the scent, I was “transported” back to Middle School and memories flooded my mind!  There were pleasant memories, unpleasant memories, close friends, teachers, trips, and vacations with my family.  I wanted to linger on that scent for a while longer and relish those memories but it was time to leave.

I may decide to tear out that page from the catalog and keep it in my writer’s notebook.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Sweet smell of memories

  1. What a perfect example to share with your students. When I think Avon, I see the mini lipsticks that were samples. It was just the right amount of lipstick for me.

    • I tore out the page and put it on my dresser to remind myself of adding it to my writer’s notebook. Unfortunately, it was accidentally thrown out so I am now waiting for another catalog.

Leave a Reply

