The Special Treat

A couple of weeks ago I decided to surprise my sister with her favorite treat…Krispy Kreme doughnuts.  The only glitch to that idea was the fact that the nearest shop that sells them was 45 minutes away in PA.  I decided that the taste (I mean, her expression of surprise) would be worth the trip.

With the help of Onstar, I made my way to the shop.  It was surprisingly easy to get there, which means they will be seeing me again.  As I entered the store, the delightfully sweet aroma of freshly baked doughnuts greeted me along with the free sample handed to me by the nice young man behind the counter.

“What can I get you?”, the young man asked.  My mind went blank.  How did I not know which doughnuts she would like?  Maybe it was the smell of the shop or the sample that distracted me, but before I knew it, and much to my husband’s horror, I ordered three dozen doughnuts.  I mean honestly, why would I make the long trip for just half a dozen?  It makes perfect sense.  As I paid for the boxes, I was given the “frequent buyer” card.  Did I really need another reason to go back?

Back up I-95 and 45 minutes later, I surprised my sister!  She didn’t mind getting out of bed for this.  The picture says it all.

photo-5

 

I am planning my next trip so I can use my “frequent buyer” card and earn my free dozen!

5 thoughts on “The Special Treat

  1. I love this! It reminds me of a Seinfeld episode where Elaine insists on going to the sandwich shop because she only needs one more “punch” on her card. I truly could smell those doughnuts with you. All of my senses were working!

Leave a Reply

