Whose child is this?

SOLC: Day 5

Here is the interesting story my daughter told me today.  See if you catch the punchline…

(M)-“Mom, I have to tell you something that happened today in Social Studies.”

(Me)-“What happened?”

(M)-“Well, we started learning about Economics and we were talking about the difference between “wants” and “needs.”  Then Mrs. O put us in small groups.  She told us to pretend we were stranded on a small island.  We had to decide on the things we need and the ones we want.”

(Me)-“What did you say?”

(M)-“I said I think we need weapons.  Everyone in the group agreed with me except for one girl.  She said that she didn’t think we needed to have them on the island, but I started telling her she was wrong.”

(M)-“What happened?”  (I started to get a bit worried about what she was going to say next.)

(M)-“Well, I called Mrs. O over and told her what the other girl was saying.  Mrs. O looked at me and said well, M, maybe she’s a pacifist.”

(Me)-“Okay”

(M)-“I told Mrs. O, yeah, well, I’m going to PASS-A-FIST.”  (Yes, she was holding up a fist).

My mouth dropped. I was already imagining the teacher calling and complaining  about M’s comment.

(Me)-“What did your teacher do?”

(M)-“She just looked at me and laughed.  She told me I was a crazy girl.”

(Me)-Ay, Dios mio!” (Oh, my God!) “Maddie, I can’t believe you said that!”

I looked at my husband and said, “This is your child.  If the school calls, you’re answering!”

Be prepared for what you may hear when you ask, how was your day in school?

4 thoughts on “Whose child is this?

  1. I love “kid stories”. Especially those like this where they say something so totally unexpected and out of character. You’ll be sharing this one again and again. 🙂

  2. OMG! I can relate! And yes I have gotten calls home too. Sometimes there’s nothing better than quoting a child to create a picture in your mind!- and a good laugh!

Leave a Reply

