The Morning Watch

SOLC: Day 2 :  The Morning Watch

 

Every morning just like clockwork it happens…

I get up and she takes my place

she pushes the blankets with her nose

she turns around 3 or 4 times

she curls up like a little ball

and begins her watch.

 

She watches as I get ready

watches as I gather my belongings

she sighs a deep sigh

and is content to take the morning watch from the comfort of my bed.

 

Slowly I stroke her and coax her off the bed

reluctantly she groans, stretches and makes her way down the stairs.

She looks out the side window and makes her way to the kitchen

looking for a treat with those sleepy blue eyes.

 

Once she enjoys a treat, she makes her way to the couch and it begins again…

she pushes the blankets with her nose

she turns around 3 or 4 times

she curls up like a little ball

and continues her watch until someone comes home.

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Morning Watch

  1. I love how the feeling of peace at observing and reluctance to move comes through in your piece. You certainly set the mood. I had a dog named Lucy who would do the same thing, but she had an air of entitlement. You are lucky to have such a faithful friend who enjoys being in your presence. Treasure her!

  2. Well done, and bittersweet isn’t it? It’s hard to leave them behind for the day. And mostly they are patient and wait. I like that you captured this for all those loving pets.

Leave a Reply

