The Power of Words

SOLC: Day 8-The Power of Words

My daughter’s High School Track coach has played a vital role in her success on the field.  During her freshman year, my daughter hit a rough patch during the season and didn’t know if she would complete the season, which was devastating to all of us.  The coach met with her one day to have a pep talk.  During their conversation the coach gave her one of those rubber bracelets that come with some sort of phrase on them.  This bracelet is black with bold white letters that say, “Finish Strong”.  My daughter wears it everyday and will not compete unless she has it with her.

She has had it with her at every basketball game, soccer match, and track meet she has participated in since the day of the pep talk. She has excelled at track, receiving awards for finishing in the top 6 at many events, and this year was named co-captain for the girls track team.

We are looking forward to seeing her success this year on the field, and as always we know that the bracelet will be with her, along with her coach challenging and cheering her on to Finish Strong.

There is a scripture in Proverbs that speaks about death and life being in the power of the tongue.  I’m so thankful that Coach Durkin spoke life during that rough patch, because she has been able to see the results of those words.  Thank you, Coach Durkin.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Words

  1. This was heartwarming! I played soccer and ran track and my coaches were a huge part in my perseverance and success! 🙂 I am now a coach and I hope to inspire my athletes the way my coaches inspired me.

  2. My colleagues and I recently had our students participate in an essay contest sponsored by a local intervention group for teens. It’s called the Kindest Kansas Citian contest. We held a reception last night to honor some of those who were the subjects of the essays, and there are some amazing people out there. It sounds like the coach is one of them! It sounds like he said just the right thing at just the right time.

  3. I didn’t realize it was already track and field season. Sports seasons just keep starting earlier and earlier nowadays, don’t they? (I recently learned about indoor soccer. I didn’t even know that existed when I was growing up.)

    I cannot believe how big your daughter is! I know I say this annually, but I remember when she was small!

Leave a Reply

